Essential Energy Board Appointment

20 October 2023

Essential Energy today announced the appointment of Grant Every-Burns as a non-executive director.

Mr Every-Burns has extensive experience in electrical engineering and more than 40 years’ experience in the operation and maintenance of large power generation facilities. He holds an honours degree in Electrical Engineering and was the inaugural Chief Executive and Managing Director of Macquarie Generation from 1996 to 2011.

Mr Every-Burns was a director of Hydro Tasmania from 2012, and its Chair from 2014 to July 2023. He has previously held directorships of the National Safety Council of Australia and the Energy Association of Australia; and has served as a non-executive Director of the National Generators Forum Limited.

Mr Every-Burns’ three-year term on the Essential Energy Board commences on 31 October 2023.

Essential Energy’s Chair, Doug Halley said “Grant’s extensive experience and understanding of the energy industry will be an asset to Essential Energy in a rapidly evolving energy sector and I am delighted to welcome him to the Board.”

Grant Every-Burns

Media contact: Rachel Hussell, Head of Communications
M: 0408 278 275