Essential Energy Chair and Board appointments named

02 September 2020

Essential Energy today announced the appointment of a new Chair and two new non-executive directors to its Board.

Doug Halley has been appointed the new Chair and has 30 years’ experience as a Chief Financial Officer or Chief Executive Officer in commercial enterprises and investment banks, with his executive experience having a heavy emphasis in corporate strategy, treasury, financial management and business development.

Mr Halley has a strong background in Initial Public Offerings and start-ups and a reputation for innovation, perseverance and achieving solutions and results. He has been an independent director for the past 13 years, most recently with MMJ Group Holdings Ltd. Between 2012 and 2017 Mr Halley chaired the DUET Group, a composite energy group which was a top 50 ASX company. Other previous director roles include Fairfax Group and Thomson Publishing.

The Hon. Duncan Gay has been appointed as a Director and brings extensive parliamentary and government sector experience to the Board.

Mr Gay held numerous positions within New South Wales Parliament including Minister for Roads and Ports, Minister for Roads and Freight, Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight and Minister for the North Coast. Mr Gay is the Chair of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator, a director at the ARC Asia-Pacific RPAS Consortium, Bush Children’s Education Foundation and Sir Earl Page Trust, and an Executive Advisor of the MU Group.

Vanessa Sullivan has also been appointed as a Director. Ms Sullivan has more than 20 years’ commercial and financial experience in the energy, water and sustainability sectors working with both government and private sector organisations. Her previous roles include Climate Change Leader and Utilities Leader for a ‘Big Four’ professional services firm, founding a renewable energy development business and undertaking significant market reforms in both the energy and water sectors. Ms Sullivan is a non-executive director at Sunwater, the Smart Energy Council (peak national industry body) and an advisory Board member for Centacare (a Not For Profit disability and family services provider).

The past 12 months have been challenging with the business navigating the worst bushfires ever experienced in New South Wales and now continuing to operate amidst a health pandemic not experienced in over 100 years. Robyn Clubb’s ongoing leadership, dedication, professionalism and passion have been instrumental across Essential Energy’s operations during this time as Interim and Acting Chair. Ms Clubb remains as a non-executive Director on Essential Energy’s Board.

Mr Halley and Ms Sullivan commenced a four-year term, and Mr Gay, a three-year term, on the Board from 25 August 2020, and join existing Board members Ms Clubb, Jennifer Douglas and John Fletcher.

Download a pdf version of this media release

Media contact: Rachel Hussell, Head of Communications 
M: 0408 278 275